You are here

Alice Yard Prize 2014 Shortlist Announced

Alice Yard Prize for Art Writing

Five writers hailing from islands across the Caribbean have been shortlisted for the inaugural Alice Yard Prize for Art Writing. The list features writers from Barbados, the Bahamas, Trinidad and Tobago, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Jamaica who will be contending for the cash prize as well as publication in the Caribbean Review of Books.

Aimed at encouraging a younger generation of art critics/ writers to blossom, the Alice Yard Prize, goes to a writer 35 years or under. Announced earlier this year, the prize will be awarded annually for an original piece of critical writing on contemporary Caribbean art.

Katherine Kennedy (Barbados), Stephen Narain (the Bahamas/US), Brandon O’Brien (Trinidad and Tobago), Aiko Maya Roudette (St. Vincent and the Grenadines/ US) and Nicole Smythe-Johnson (Jamaica) are the writers on this year’s shortlist.

The 2014 jury who culled the shortlist and will eventually select the winning writer comprises art historian and curator Krista Thompson (the Bahamas/ US), artist and curator Charles Campbell (Jamaica/ Canada) and Courtney J. Martin (US) who is also a art historian and curator. 

Based in Trinidad and Tobago, Alice Yard, the a backyard space in Woodbrook, Port of Spain was established in 2008 and is described as a space for “creative experiment, collaboration and improvisation”. 

The prize is the brainchild of Alice Yard co-directors Sean Leonard, Christopher Cozier, and Nicholas Laughlin.