You are here

Anthony Winkler and Jasmine Thomas-Girvan reap Musgrave Gold

Anthony Winkler earns a gold Musgrave Award

Novelist Anthony Winkler and sculptor and educator Petrona Morrison are among those joining the prestigious list of Musgrave medalists. Winkler and Morrison are two of the three gold medalists among this year’s awardees. The 2014 Musgrave Award, takes place on Wednesday, October 22, at 3:00 pm and will bestow a total of nine awards this year in the gold, silver and bronze categories.

Winkler, who is being awarded for his contribution to literature, has been an acclaimed and reasonably prolific writer who is coming close to having produced a dozen novels. Since his debut novel, The Painted Canoe (1984), he had also written The Lunatic (1987), The Duppy (1997) and most recently God Carlos (2012) and The Family Mansion (2013). He has also written plays as well as academic texts.

Morrison, former head of the School of the Visual Art at the Edna Manley College is being awarded for her work in art and education. Along with her tenure at Edna Manley, Morrison has been accomplished artist, having exhibited in several countries around the world as well as had residencies in Kenya, South Africa and the United States. 

Two other visual artists are also among this year’s awardees. Sculptor and jeweler Jasmine Thomas-Girvan, winner of the Aaron Matalon Award (2012) earns a spot among this year’s silver medalists while Philip Thomas takes a bronze Musgrave medal.

Music also gets some play, with two producers joining this year’s list of awardees. Donovan Germain will receive a silver while Augustus ‘Gussie’ Clarke will take home a bronze medal. Most known for his work through Penthouse Studio and the iconic works produced with Buju Banton, Germain has also worked with Freddie McGreggor, Morgan Heritage, Tenor Saw and Mad Cobra.

The Musgrave Medal also awards achievements in science and this year those in the field being recognized are Professor Celia Christie-Samuels (gold medal for her work in medicine) Dr. Karl Aiken (silver medal for his research in the Life Sciences) and Dr. Tannecia Stephenson (bronze medal for her work in physics).

The Musgrave awards were introduced in 1889. This year’s award takes place at the Institute of Jamaica Lecture Hall.