You are here

Four Caribbean Writers Make Dublin Literary Award Longlist

Dublin Literary Award Longlist

Four Caribbean authors from Jamaica and Trinidad have made the longlist for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award. A total of 150 books have made this year’s longlist, all of them nominated by public libraries around the world. The authors will be vying for the final prize of €100,000, which is the world’s largest prize for a single work of fiction.

Lynn Joseph with Dancing in the Rain (Blouse & Skirt Books) and Kevin Jared Hosein with The Repenters (Peepal Tree Press) are the two Trinididian writers up for the prize. Nicole Dennis Benn’s Here Comes the Sun (Liveright/ W.W. Norton and Company) and Diana Macaulay’s Gone to Drift (Papillote Press) are the two books by Jamaican authors up for the prize.

The Dublin Literary Award Longlist features 111 cities, 37 countries and includes 48 novels in translation.  

Other novels up for the award include Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad, Zadie Smith’s Swing Time, Emma Cline’s The Girls

The 2018 judging panel comprises Vona Groarke, Irish poet and Senior Lecturer at the University of Manchester; Xiaolu Guo, Chinese British novelist, essayist and filmmaker; Nicky Harman, translator and co-Chair of the Translators Association; Dr. Mpalive Msiska, author and Reader in English and Humanities at Birkbeck, University of London and Courttia Newland, novelist and associate lecturer in creative writing at the University of Westminster. The non-voting Chairperson is Eugene R. Sullivan.

The Dublin Literary Award is organized by the Dublin City Council. The 2018 Award was launched on Monday 6th November by Lord Mayor/Ardmhéara Mícheál MacDonncha, Patron of the Award. Dublin is a UNESCO City of Literature.