You are here

Hilary Mantel Cops Man Booker Prize 2012 with Bring Up the Bodies

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel winner of Man Booker Prize 2012

And then there was one. After carving through a list of 145 novels and eventually whittling it down to a shortlist of six, the judges of the Man Booker Prize named Hilary Mantel’s Bring up the Bodies winner of the 2012 prize. And there the plot thickens. In copping the coveted prize, Mantel has pulled off a number of firsts. Not only is she the first British writer to have won the prize twice, but she is also the first person to win the prize with a sequel.

Mantel won the Man Booker Prize for historical novel Wolf Hall the first installment of the trilogy in 2009. Only two other authors have snagged the prize twice. South African writer J.M. Coetzee earned the prize in 1983 with Life and Times of Michael K and again in 1999 with Disgrace. Australian writer Peter Carey earned the prize in 1988 with Oscar and Lucinda and repeated the win thirteen years later in 2001 with The True Story of the Kelly Gang. The winner of the Man Booker Prize receives £50,000.

The Man Booker Prize was launched in 1969. Books from the United Kingdom, The Commonwealth and the Republic of Ireland are eligible to enter for the prize. The panel of judges for 2012 included Sir Peter Stothard (Judicial Chair), Amanda Foreman, Dan Stevens, Bharat Tandom and Dinah Birch.

The longlist of the 2012 award was announced on July 25 and the shortlist on September 11. The winner was announced on October 16, 2012.

Man Booker Prize 2012 Shortlist:
Bring up the Bodies: Hilary Mantel
Narcopolis: Jeet Thayil
Swimming Home: Deborah Levy
The Garden of Evening Mists:  Tan Twan Eng
The Lighthouse: Alison Moore
Umbrella: Will Self