You are here

Kamau Brathwaite is 2015 Frost Medalist

Kamau Brathwaite - 2015 Frost Medalist

Barbadian poet Kamau Brathwaite has been named the 2015 Frost Medalist. The Frost Medal is the Poetry Society of America’s highest award. The Frost Medal is given annually for distinguished lifetime achievement in poetry.

Brathwaite, one of the most distinctive poetic voices to have emerged from the Caribbean has gifted the region with his poetry, plays and significant literary and cultural criticism. He is the author of several collections of poetry including Elegguas, Born to Slow Horses, Black Blues, Roots, Middle Passages and The Arrivants. His important literary and cultural criticism include Roots: Essays on Caribbean Literature and History of the Voice: The Development of Nation Language in Anglophone Caribbean Poetry.

The Frost award was first given in 1930. Previous winners of the Frost Medal have included Gwendolyn Brooks, Adrienne Rich, Sonia Sanchez, Wallace Stevens, Marilyn Nelson and Charles Simic. Gerald Stern was the 2014 recipient.

Brathwaite will be honoured at the 2015 Annual Awards ceremony on April 16, 2015. The ceremony will take place at the National Arts Club in New York at 7:00 pm

The Poetry Society of America is the oldest poetry organization in the United States.  It was founded in 1910 for the purpose of creating a public forum for the advancement, enjoyment, and understanding of poetry. The society offers programs, initiatives, contests, and awards in order to widen the audience for poetry while encouraging a deeper appreciation of the art. Poetry in Motion is the PSA's signature program.