You are here

Kevin Jared Hosein Cops Second Commonwealth Writers Prize

Kevin Jared Hosein Cops 2nd Commonwealth Writers Prize with Passage

For the second time in just three years, Trinidadian author Kevin Jared Hosein has snagged the regional prize (Caribbean) for the Commonwealth Writers Short Story Prize, this time with his short story ‘Passage’. Hosein first won the regional prize in 2015. 

“Trinidad and Tobago writes itself. It writes loudly and quietly at the same time. Loudly, because it likes to boast of its best and worst parts. Quietly, because it thinks nobody cares to listen,” the author said in his statement on the Commonwealth Writers website.

Hosein is the author of three books. His most recent novel, The Beast of Kukuyo, won a  Burt Award for Caribbean Literature in 2017 while his first novel, The Repenters, ws shortlisted for the OCM Bocas Prize for Fiction. His third work is Littletown Secrets. Hosein has been twice shortlisted for the Small Axe Prize for prose and his work has been widely anthologized, appearing in Lightspeed, adda and, most recently, We Mark Your Memory: Writing from the Descendants of Indenture.

“This win, along with the many voices year after year whom have shortlisted and won for this little twin-island nation, is reinforced proof that people out there are entertained by our stories, derive meaning and relevance from them, and are moved by them. It is proof that people care to listen," Hosein said.

The three other Caribbean writers shortlisted for the prize were Sharma Taylor (‘Son Son’s Birthday), Breanne McIvor (‘The Boss’) and Marcus Bird (‘An Elephant in Kingston).

The four other regional winners for 2018 are: Nigeria’s Efua Traoré with ‘True Happiness’ for Africa; India’s Sagnik Datta with ‘The Divine Pregnancy in a Twelve-Year-Old-Woman’ (Asia); the UK’s Lynda Clark with ‘Ghillies Mum’ for Canada and Europe; and Samoa’s Jenny Bennett-Tuionetoa with ‘Matalasi’ (the Pacific).

The 2018 Commonwealth Writers Short Story Prize received over 5,000 entries and 24 of these were shortlisted from across the five regions. Each regional winner receives £2,500 while the overall winner will receive £5,000. The winning entry will be announced at the Centre for Visual Arts and Research, Nicosia on July 25, 2018.